Tempo Perdido – Livro de Joaquim

Publisher: Agir (2011) – Pages: 352
ISBN: 9788522012893

TEMPO PERDIDO (series 2011 / 2012)

Using historical events as a background, the author dives into the absorbing love story of Joaquim and Leah. Each book is narrated by one of the main characters in different perspectives, showing how dissimilar a man and a woman perceive their lives. Although the books are independent of each other, the reading of both will enrich the reader’s experience and reveal much more of one another.

Tempo perdido: Livro de Joaquim (2011)

It’s 1824 when the shipbuilder Joaquim, 27, and the young Leah, 17, bride to be in an arranged marriage in Portugal, meet and fall in love on the remote island of Fernando de Noronha. During one night on the beach a magic star falls down from the sky into the ocean, mysteriously transferring its eternal life to the couple. Unaware of the star’s affect, Leah is taken to Lisbon, against her will. It is then when Joaquim’s adventure to find her begins. From a Brazilian farm with slaves in the late 1850’s to the stirring streets of Lisbon of 1900s; from working with Pierre and Marie Currie in Paris to Viena’s most flourishing period; from World War I to the defeated Germany; from the Wall Street crash of 1929 in New York to the 60’s dictatorship in Brazil – Joaquim experiences it all. In Leah’s absence he takes care of sad Berenice, falls in love with Anne Sophie, builds a toxic relationship with Luna, shares a life with Sara and her son Joseph. And has many other relationships with various women, including one with communist Marina, with whom he raises Nicolau. But never, even for a moment, does he stops looking for his real love, Leah.

Almost two centuries later, in 2012, a miracle occurs. The couple finally meets back at their starting point, at the same island. The encounter makes them face all their missed hopes and present doubts, but true love conquers all.

Download the 1st Chapter (PDF 155kb)

Also read Tempo perdido: Livro de Leah



TV Show Visão Feminina 11/09/2011

TV Show Sem Sensura 03/10/2011